7. <u>NOTICE OF MOTION - REVIEW OF COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO</u> <u>POSITIONS OF RESPONSIBILITY - SUBMITTED BY COUNCILLOR</u> <u>FRANK ANDERSON</u>

The Council considered a motion (copies of which had been circulated) submitted by Councillor Frank Anderson in the following terms :-

"Following the 2 recent by elections here in West Lothian, the court of public opinion have decisively rejected the Labour Party and continue to endorse the SNP as the party to be trusted. Accepting the democratic decision of the electorate and their expectations that the largest political group in the Council, the SNP, should be involved in running the Council, the SNP group are disappointed that Labour have not resigned of their own volition.

The SNP Group therefore have no confidence, and neither do the electorate, in the sham claim that this Council is run by a minority Labour administration. It is time for the positions of responsibility to be reviewed under Standing Order 30(1). With the Council now consisting of 14SNP, 11Labour, 7Conservative and 1Independent we call on the Labour Group to resign from the Administration and a new SNP administration is appointed. If they do not resign then council agrees to end these appointments and elect replacements immediately, as per below.

Council therefore agrees to:

- 1. Notes the present service portfolios in the Scheme of Administration and that we appoint Executive Councillors for those policy areas.
- 2. Determine that the current arrangements should continue, pending any desired changes being approved at future council meetings.
- 3. Note that changes to Standing Orders and the Scheme of Administration might only be made by full council on notice being given with the agenda for the meeting.
- 4. Agree what further action, if any, should be taken to review the current arrangements and bring forward proposals for change.
- 5. Consider and agree what action should be taken, if any, in relation to accommodation in the Civic Centre for elected members and Member Services staff."
- Moved by Councillor Frank Anderson and seconded by Councillor Willie Boyle

<u>Amendment</u>

"Council notes that with 33 elected members in West Lothian elected under the P.R. system, it would be difficult for any party to achieve over 50% of the vote and 17 or more councillors.

Since 2007 when P.R. was introduced no party has attained a majority and in order to set up a political administration, arrangements/understandings were put in place following council elections in 2007, 2012 and 2017

Council is reminded that in 2007, SNP formed the Administration via arrangements with other parties, albeit Labour had the highest number of councillors. In 2012, Labour had the highest number of councillors and in 2017 the result was 13 SNP, 12 Labour, 7 Conservative and 1 Independent.

Council agrees that the focus for any Administration lies in delivering quality local services which benefit the community as opposed to continually pressing for a referendum on Scottish Independence.

Council also notes that in the 2017 council election 60.6% of the vote was achieved by parties and an Independent member opposed to Independence.

Council agrees therefore that the status quo continues until 5th May 2022"

- Moved by Councillor Lawrence Fitzpatrick and seconded by Councillor Kirsteen Sullivan

A roll call vote was taken. The result was as follows :-

Motion Frank Anderson Willie Boyle Diane Calder Janet Campbell Robert De Bold Jim Dickson Carl John Sarah King Maria MacAulay Andrew Miller Moira Shemilt David Tait Tom Ullathorne Amendment Alison Adamson Stuart Borrowman Harry Cartmill Tom Conn David Dodds Angela Doran-Timson Damian Doran-Timson Bruce Fairbairn Lawrence Fitzpatrick Peter Heggie Chris Horne Charles Kennedy Tom Kerr John McGinty Andrew McGuire Dom McGuire Cathy Muldoon George Paul Kirsteen Sullivan

Decision

Following a vote, the amendment was successful by 19 votes to 13 with 1 member absent and it was agreed accordingly.