



# West Lothian Integration Joint Board

Date: 20 October 2015

Agenda Item: 4

# IJB MEMBERSHIP

# REPORT BY DIRECTOR

### A PURPOSE OF REPORT

The purpose of this report is to advise the IJB of the prescribed and discretionary membership of the IJB.

### **B RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that the IJB notes the prescribed membership and agrees the discretionary membership.

### C TERMS OF REPORT

The Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act 2014 and associated regulations set out the requirements in relation to membership of the IJB.

There are two categories of IJB membership

- 1. Voting appointed by NHS Lothian and West Lothian Council
- 2. Non-voting appointed in accordance with article 3 of the Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Integration Joint Boards) (Scotland) Order 2014.

At its meeting of 2 June 2015 the Shadow IJB noted the confirmation of the eight voting members and at its meeting of 25 August 2015 agreed the process to recruit non-voting members.

The following professional advisors must be appointed as non-voting members

- Chief Social Work Officer
- Chief Officer of the IJB
- S95 / Chief Financial Officer
- GP Representative\*
- Secondary Medical Care Practitioner\*
- Nurse Representative\*

\* These members are nominated by the Health Board.

The IJB must also appoint the following stakeholder members

- Third sector
- Service user
- Carer
- Staff.

Flexibility is also provided in the legislation for the IJB to appoint such additional members as it sees fit provided they are not a councillor or non-executive director of the Health Board.

At the June meeting of the shadow IJB it was agreed that it would be appropriate for two staff members to be appointed in respect of both partner organisations engaged in the provision of the delegated services. It was agreed that representation be sought from the relevant West Lothian Council and NHS Lothian staff groups to fill these positions. These positions have now been filled.

On 25 August 2015 the shadow IJB approved the process to recruit non-voting members and officers are actively seeking to fill the remaining positions.

The IJB membership as is it currently stands is appended to this report.

# D CONSULTATION

Meeting of shadow IJB on 2 June 2015

Meeting of shadow IJB on 25 August 2015

# E REFERENCES/BACKGROUND

Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act 2014

Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Integration Joint Boards) (Scotland) Order 2014

### F APPENDICES

West Lothian Integration Joint Board – List of Membership

### **G** SUMMARY OF IMPLICATIONS

- **Equality/Health** The report has been assessed as having little or no relevance with regard to equality or the Public Sector Equality Duty. As a result, equality impact assessment has not been conducted.
- National Health<br/>and WellbeingIJB is charged with delivering the nine National Health and<br/>Wellbeing Outcomes.Outcomes

Strategic Plan Outcomes	None.	
Single Outcome Agreement	None.	
Impact on other Lothian IJBs	None.	
Resource/finance	None.	
Policy/Legal	Compliance with the Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act 2014	
Risk	None.	

# H CONTACT

Jim Forrest, Director 01506 281002 Jim.Forrest@westlothian.gov.uk

20 October 2015

# WEST LOTHIAN INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD MEMBERSHIP

Name	Role	Category	
Frank Toner	Chair	Voting Member	
David Farquharson		Voting Member	
Alex Joyce		Voting Member	
Danny Logue		Voting Member	
Julie McDowell	Vice Chair	Voting Member	
Anne McMillan		Voting Member	
John McGinty		Voting Member	
Alison Meiklejohn		Voting Member	
Jim Forrest	Director	Non-Voting	Professional
	(Chief Officer Designate of the IJB)	Member	Advisors
Jane Kellock	Chief Social Work Officer	Non-Voting Member	
Elaine Duncan	GP Representative	Non-Voting Member	
James McCallum	Secondary Medical Care Practitioner Representative	Non-Voting Member	
Mairead Hughes (on	Nurse	Non-Voting	
an interim basis until appointment of Chief Nurse)	Representative	Member	
Vacant	S95 / Chief	Non-Voting	
	Financial Officer	Member	
Robin Strang	Third Sector (West Lothian Leisure)	Non-Voting Member	Stakeholder Representatives
Vacant	Service User	Non-Voting Member	
Mary-Denise	Carer	Non-Voting	
McKernan	(Carers of West Lothian)	Member	
Martin Murray	Staff Representative (West Lothian Council)	Non-Voting Member	
Jane Houston	Staff Representative (NHS Lothian)	Non-Voting Member	